About Us

About Wells Sanitary District

The Wells Sanitary District was formed by the Maine Legislature under Title 38, Chapter 11, Sanitary Districts, in 1970. The five-member Board of Trustees is elected by the citizens of Wells. The Trustees serve 3-year staggered terms. The Trustees hold monthly meetings to conduct District business.

The majority of the sewer lines, pump stations, and the wastewater treatment facility (WWTF) were built in the 1970’s and became operational in 1980. Currently, the District maintains and operates 10 pump stations, 40 miles of sewer lines, and the secondary WWTF, which has capacity for treating 2 million gallons per day.

The District’s seven employees are committed to providing excellent, cost-effective service in collecting, pumping and treating residential and commercial wastewater from the District’s users.

Normal business hours are Monday thru Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm.